The Snowmageddon That Wasn’t

So. I’m from the South. (Surprise, y’all.) Despite its myriad faults, the longer I stay here, the less I want to leave. I’m sure you saw the headlines about gridlock in Atlanta, the horror stories about some woman giving birth in traffic, people spending double-digit hours in vehicles for commutes that normally take 30 minutes, and more. We aren’t that bad at driving, you guys, we just do not have the infrastructure for all this. Plus, our urban sprawl is massive, y’all. We want the NYC lifestyle but the Dixie scenery. So we build these ridiculous highway systems and then don’t know what to do with them when things like this happen.

Anyway. (That sidebar was free.)

Snow in SC ©Jessica Hoffman

I posted last about how much I love nature and I really can’t express just how true that is. So I was pretty stoked when I got to work from home today. I didn’t run out and play in the snow, but I did take a few pics. I know that isn’t a great shot. I snapped it to send to a friend in Sweden via Snapchat, so I wasn’t really going for pro-quality. But how could I resist? We get exactly one snowfall every four years or less, so it’s kind of a big deal for us. (Obviously.)

Leo ©Jessica Hoffman

Massive Dog agrees.

I also know I don’t have the most photogenic neighborhood, but man, something about snow just makes everything look so pretty. Like my adorable car. Observe!

Snowy cars ©Jessica Hoffman

I love bad weather. I love violent thunderstorms, I love snowfalls, I love power outages and camping in the house and candlelight takeout dinners and whatnot. I love rain and wind and thunder and lightning. Nature is awesome, people; take a step outside and just really look at it.

Iced Berries ©Jessica Hoffman

Snowy berries ©Jessica Hoffman

I want to close with a shot that is not mine but is so quintessentially Southern I simply cannot resist sharing it. I live about five minutes out of the downtown area of undeniable horse country. It’s beautiful and perfect for horse farms, not to mention being the site of some pretty important horse races and other equine sporting events. There’s a road there, a little street called South Boundary, that is one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen in my life. Admittedly, I’ve not been to lots of places, and I’ve been out of the country only a handful of times. But this town and this street exemplify nearly everything I love about the South.

South Boundary ©Aiken Info/Facebook

Get outside and enjoy the view.

One thought on “The Snowmageddon That Wasn’t

Leave a Reply

