Ice Storms, Earthquakes, and Any Excuse Not To Write

I’m sure you remember the Snowmageddon That Wasn’t. It was great! A nice day to work from home, chill with my pups and my husband, and just generally take it easy. (Yes, I did manage to get quite a bit of work done, thankyouverymuch ^_~ )

Well, last weekend I went to Vegas for a convention (Look for a post on that soon). The day before my flight home, the weather here started to turn nasty again. Winter storms were predicted and people started looking to and laughing at Atlanta once again. Crazy ol’ backwoods Southerners, don’t know how to handle a little snow and already panicking. Most of us assumed it would be like the week before. Hubs made sure we still had enough charcoal to grill in case we lost power and washed as much laundry as he could stand while I was away. (He hates folding laundry.)

And then the storm hit.

It was clear from the beginning this was worse than the measly 2 inches of snow we got last time. This time, predictions called for 2-3 inches of nothing but ice. And we’ve gotten ice before. But keep in mind we get ice once every — what, five or six years? I don’t know. I remember the last time this happened but I don’t have any idea what year it was. I was in high school and I just remember how devastated our little town was and how horribly long it took to get home.

Trees fell and transformers blew all over the neighborhood. Kris tried to keep one tree from pulling our power lines from the side of the house. And while we had our money on the pecan tree or the tree over our power lines being the first ones to go, the cedar on the other side of the house had other plans. I struggled to find a picture of it, and I was kind of sad to realize I don’t have any except this one, from a snow day back before Kris and I were married:

Snow day selfie :3

It’s back in the corner. See it there, all stately and tree-ish?

Aaaaand here it is now, post-Icepocalypse:

Broken tree!

Sad 😦

I’m hoping we don’t lose the tree entirely, but Kris isn’t very hopeful. The trunk is split and from the looks of things, the top was already dying before the storm came through. But now we have a lovely piece of cedar wood inside, a bit Kris brought in after chopping up the branches that fell on our fence. (No major damage there, though, thankfully.) It’s actually quite pretty. And it smells divine.

All in all we escaped fairly unscathed. There’s some minor damage to our chain link fence, but nothing we can’t fix/replace on our own. Our power was only out for around 24 hours, if that. It came on after we’d abandoned ship and headed to the warmth of my aunt’s house. Before we chickened out, though, we tossed on some of our warmest clothes (it’s all hunting gear; no one here has winter jackets, you guys) and wandered around the neighborhood snapping pictures and breaking ice and being children. What else is there to do in weather like this?

And then, because ice storms and snow and power outages and downed trees aren’t enough, we went and had an earthquake. Seriously! Sheesh.

I’ll leave you with this interesting CBS News coverage of the damage in my little corner of the world, and then some of my less-than-professional shots of the aftermath of WINTER STORM PAX [cue dramatic musical score]

A tree! Not my car!!

Oh nooooooo

#

Somehow, no damage to the car

A narrow miss!

#

Icy sign

Just angle the shot up a bit and suddenly it’s ART

#

Prissy Dog

Prissy Dog! Now with jacket accessory.

#

Frozen garden flag

Our garden flag froze to the fence.

#

K, cheesin'

The husband in his natural habitat.

Leave a Reply

