Tuesday Reviews Day: Book Riot YA 03

Oh look at that, it’s a double-header!

This week I was thrilled to get BYA03 in the mail, Book Riot’s third Young Adult Quarterly box. I’ve been looking forward to it ever since BYA02, when I looked ahead on the calendar and realized the next box would arrive just in time for Halloween. I had pretty high hopes for it, and the folks over at Book Riot crushed it, yet again.

Book Riot's Young Adult box #03, October 2015

Book Riot’s Young Adult box #03, October 2015

This month, we’ve got two new books, both by women! Sweet. This subscription has already done wonders for my No-SCWM reading list. I’m still working my way up to truly scary reads, so let’s start with what I’m reading now: The Devil and Winnie Flynn by Micol Ostow, illustrated by her brother David. So far it’s leaning a little toward the lower end of the YA reading level, but I’m not finding it a problem. It just means I can get through it faster, which is excellent. You also get two cute little temp tattoos based on illustrations from the novel.

The second book this month is Daughters Unto DevilsAmy Lukavics’ debut novel. Based on the subscriber letter in the box, this one is super spooky. The letter describes it as “Little House on the Prairie meets Children of the Corn.” Oh, good. Gonna need to read this one  in broad daylight on an ultra sunny day, preferably surrounded by hundreds of people. Like, at the mall. Or a café. Yeah.

The super-cute “Sky” package you see in the middle is as handy as it is adorable; it’s basically book-safe post-its, so you can mark your favorite pages without leaving any messes or rips when you change your mind. Plus, add bunches of them and they make a cute little cloudscape on your pages! How sweet. They have tons of designs, and apparently each subscriber got something a little different. Neat! Check out all the patterns—and buy some!—at the designer’s page.

And finally, hidden under the packing strips was a cute little word art poster! Designed by Katy Dwyer, this fun print says “Fight Evil, Read Books” with some spooky decorations surrounding the text. I seriously can’t wait to find a frame to toss this in so I can hang it in my office.

Basically, Book Riot hit another one out of the park, and, while I’ve seen the original Book Riot box for this month and like what’s in it, I’m really glad I decided to stick with the YA box instead. What are you waiting for? Go sign up!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Reviews Day: Book Riot YA 03

Leave a Reply

