Friday Reads: How to Read Three Books at Once

cropped-20170710_2243091.jpg

Image: Detail shot of a pencil bag with the words “So many books, so little time.”

A wild RECURRING POST appears! (Hint: Use FOLLOW, it’s super effective)

Bailey Poland, author of Haters: Harassment, Abuse, and Violence Online, does a weekly #fridayreads on Twitter, and I love following it. She RTs dozens of really interesting-sounding books every week, which is good for my reading horizons but bad for my TBR list, bookshelves, and wallet. (Full disclosure: I have not yet read Poland’s book.)

So, in the spirit of creating More Content, I’d like to start a weekly Friday Reads post of my own. Now that I’ve moved Tuesday Reviews Day to every-other-week, it’s much easier to stay ahead of schedule on reviews, but it makes it a bit harder to share what I’m reading with you in real time. I do have the Goodreads widget in the left rail, but this will give me a chance to expand on that a little more, without making you wait weeks for a full review.

 

This week, I’ve got three books on my Currently Reading list, which is … good grief, it isn’t usually a good idea for me. But I’ve been on a reading wave, and I like to ride those as much as possible. Plus, it helps that all three books are totally different genres, so I can take a break from one when I need it. Without further ado, check out this week’s Friday Reads.

  • A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers, & Other Badass Girls. Edited by Jessica Spotswood (who is also a contributor), this short story anthology features 15 powerhouse women writing about 15 badass women, and it couldn’t be more up my alley. Short stories have a special place in my heart, because they’re my favorite pieces to actually write. They be little but they be fierce. Because the stories are in no way interconnected, though, I find myself going through it a little slower than usual so I can savor each individual story for what it is. So far, I’m really enjoying the diversity, in the characters as well as the settings. I think my favorite at the halfway point is either “El Destinos” or “The Red Raven Ball,” though “High Stakes” is quite an achievement. An added bonus? A sequel is expected in 2018.
  • Hope in the Dark, Rebecca Solnit. Originally published in 2004, Solnit’s essay collection focuses on the overwhelming despair felt around the world when former President G. W. Bush was reelected. I borrowed this book from my sister, and I need to just go buy it, because the temptation to highlight and make notes in the margins is overwhelming. This book is almost eerily prescient, speaking through the years to today’s political climate with a message: We have been here before, we have survived, and we will do so again. Not without loss, not without consequence, but never without hope. It is a challenging read, due mostly to its density of research and the emotionally taxing subject matter. But it is, so far, worth the effort, especially for people who find themselves utterly drained by today’s socio-political landscape.
  • The Lake Effect, Erin McCahan. This book came in PageHabit’s YA Box #02, so I only got it a few days ago. I’m not very far into it yet, but it’s already so cute. It feels like a light and airy beach read, which is not always my thing, but I try to enjoy at least one a year. I keep reading hints about a bunch of funerals, though, so I’m not sure how long it will remain light and airy, but so far, so good. I’m into it.
Leave a Reply

