Friday Reads: The End is Nigh

This week, I still have three books on my Currently Reading list, and you may notice some familiar titles. Two, in fact. I finished McCahan’s The Lake Effect already and I’m working on the review post for that, though the way the scheduling falls, it’ll actually be September before that review post goes up!

I haven’t made much of a dent in my Currently Reading list, mainly because my summer is drawing quickly to a close; my graduate classes start back up on the 14th, so my reading-for-pleasure time will be cut down drastically. My video gaming time, however, will be basically eliminated, and apparently my brain realized that for the first time on Monday, and so I’ve spent every free moment I have frantically playing No Man’s Sky. (I love that game, don’t @ me)

This week’s reading list includes:

  • A Tyranny of PetticoatsI’ve made some progress in this, but as I mentioned last week, anthologies always take me longer to read, especially when the stories within them are not interconnected. (Shameless plug here: If you like anthologies with continuity among the stories, check out The Midnight Carnival: One Night Only, featuring one story and two collabs by yours truly.) My favorite stories have not shifted yet, though that’s not to say the other stories aren’t also good. I’m still looking forward to the 2018 sequel. There are some women authors I’d love to see contribute to a collection like this one.
  • Hope in the Dark. I haven’t made any progress in this one. It’s really dense, and the subject matter is … not exactly light-hearted. I have to be in the right frame of mind to read this, and I just haven’t been. I want to read it, I just can’t get in the right headspace, and I want to be sure to give this book the attention it deserves. It’s worth the read, but this book takes some emotional labor to read.
  • Go Set a Watchman, Harper Lee. I really did enjoy To Kill a Mockingbird, but the stories that Lee didn’t want GSaW published and that Atticus turns out to be a racist (but don’t worry, he’s a “nice” racist???) really discouraged me from reading it. But here I am, reading it anyway, and I still have mixed feelings about it. I like the person Scout has become, and there are a few moments of dry humor (and more moments of failed humor) but I’m not sure about the rest. Am I supposed to like Henry? Because I don’t. Am I supposed to hate Maycomb? Because I do. There doesn’t seem to be a real plot so far, the action is rambling and meanders through present day and Scout’s memory simultaneously, and the only inspiration to the book appears to be the words of John Steinbeck: “You can’t go home again because home has ceased to exist except in the mothballs of memory.” I don’t know, I’m not sure I like it but I’m not sure I’m ready to give up on it yet either.
Leave a Reply

