Post-surgery, Pre-semester: Personal Update

IMG_20160329_151602

Image: Photo of a flowering tree on a university campus taken by the author, April 2017

My last personal update covered a lot of ground, so you’d be forgiven for not remembering everything or skipping it altogether. Since that post, there hasn’t been a lot going on, but enough to bring y’all up to speed a bit.

I did have the laparoscopy in July, and I’ve since gone back to my doctor for the post-op. Turns out I don’t have endometriosis, but I do have several fibroids of varying size, including one the size of a golf ball. Yeesh. It’s a mixed blessing, really, because if it were endo, she probably could have removed the scar tissue and relieved a lot of symptoms. But since the problem is actually fibroids, there isn’t much that can be done without extensive and invasive surgery, which doesn’t seem like the best option right now. So while I’m relieved that things aren’t as bad as they could have been, I’m also a little disappointed to know that the worst of my symptoms aren’t going away any time soon.

Grad school courses begin next Monday. I recall reading something once that said the start of the school year was the best time to start new habits, so I’ve decided to take this week prior to classes to try out a new health & fitness routine. Nothing too outlandish; we’re shooting for brisk, long walks Monday/Wednesday/Friday and bike rides on Saturdays. Of course, the ultimate goal is to get our home gym set up and add some weight training on Tuesday/Thursday. Progress on the garage is going pretty well, to be honest, so I don’t think that’s too far off.

I’m really looking forward to classes this term, though, and I honestly don’t remember how much I talked about the Fall session in my last personal update. But I’ll be taking Literary Theory and African-American Literature. My books have already come in, and I’m planning on spending commercial breaks during my trash TV night tonight reading my Lit Theory assigned novel:Β Dracula. I’ve read it several times, but this edition is one I’ve never seen; it’s got numerous critical essays included with the text, and I’m stoked to read them. Lit Theory was my favorite undergrad course, and while I know grad classes are a different breed than undergrad, I’m hoping that’s a good sign for how this semester might go.

Aside from all that, Kris is starting to get the yard ready for winter, I’m getting ready to bury my head in a laptop and a textbook for four months, and, sadly, that means this blog might suffer a hit. I’ve got enough TRDs queued to get you through August and into September, but after that I’m not sure what will happen to that segment, to be honest. I’m planning to keep #fridayreads going, because I think some people might be interested in the literature I’m going through for grad school.

Basically, just bear with me until the holidays, if you can πŸ™‚ I’ll have some time off from coursework then, and I’ve got some ideas in the works for some Blogmas posts I think you’ll enjoy. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Post-surgery, Pre-semester: Personal Update

Leave a Reply

