Friday Reads: So It Begins

Grad school classes begin on Monday, and it appears no one has informed my anxiety disorder. So far I’m pretty calm about it, maybe even excited. I spent some time this week reviewing my syllabus for Literary Theory, and I’m beyond stoked for this class. The entire month of November will be spent on Feminist Theory and Gender/Queer Theory, which I am considering an early holiday gift from my professor. He also informed us that skimming most of our assigned readings is acceptable and expected, so we’re friends now. It’s fine.

I haven’t heard anything from my other professor yet, but I’m not worried; class doesn’t actually begin until Monday so there’s still time.

Anyway, my personal reading has slowed down even more, but without further ado: #fridayreads.

  • A Tyranny of Petticoats. I’ve read several more stories in this, and to be honest, I might be able to finish it this weekend, finally. I’ve got a new favorite short, though: Beth Revis’ “Pearls.” I’m actually swooning just thinking about it. It was one of the best shorts I’ve read in a long time, though perhaps I’m biased because it’s a Western, which is scientifically proven to be the fastest way to my heart. If you haven’t gotten this book yet, you’re doing your bookshelf, your TBR, and yourself a massive disservice. Read it to your kids as bedtime stories.
  • Dracula. This is assigned reading for Literary Theory, but this is hands-down one of my favorite books. Not just a favorite classic, a favorite book. I love reading it. It draws me in; the imagery is breathtaking and the foreshadowing is – well, it isn’t subtle, but it’s effective. The edition we’re using for class features the complete novel, plus essays putting Dracula in cultural context and essays taking a variety of critical approaches to analysis, including psychoanalytic and gender criticism. If you like reading deeper than the page, this edition is a good one. The footnotes are illuminating, even though I’ve studied this novel for three classes and read it on personal time as well. Every free minute I have I really just want to be reading this. I missed this book.
Leave a Reply

